March 6th, 2012 | → 1 Comments | ∇ News |

Ghastly Awards 2011 Nominations

by Ghastly McNasty

Ghastly Awards 2012

The Ghastly Award Judges are proud to announce the 2011 Nominees. The nominees, which were chosen by the entire comic creating community, reflect the wide range of horror material being published in print and web comic form today.Named for acclaimed comics creator “Ghastly” Graham Ingles, the awards are in their 1st year. Created to honor excellence in Horror Comics, every comic creator has a say in who the nominees are by nominating for their favorites throughout the year.

The 2011 Nominees are:

Best Ongoing Title:

Animal Man (DC)
The Goon (Dark Horse)
Walking Dead (Image Comics)
Sixth Gun (Oni Press)
Hellblazer (Vertigo)

Best Mini-Series:
Hellboy: The Fury (Dark Horse)
Locke & Key: Keys to the Kingdom (IDW Publishing)

Witch Doctor (Image Comics)
The Vault (Image Comics)
’68 (Image Comics)

Best One-Shot:
Hellboy – Buster Oakley (Dark Horse)
Locke & Key: Guide to the Known Keys (IDW Publishing)
’68 Hardship (Image Comics)

Hellblazer Annual (Vertigo)
Fail of the Dead (Antarctic Press)

Best New Series:
Animal Man (DC)
Witch Doctor (Image Comics)
Green Wake (Image Comics)
Hellraiser (BOOM! Studios)
I, Vampire (DC)

Best Anthology:
Hellraiser Masterpieces (BOOM! Studios)
Creepy (Dark Horse)
Fubar 2 (Alterna Comics)
Strange Aeons Magazine (Strange Aeons)
A Very Zombie Christmas (Antarctic Press)

Best OGN:

Flesh & Blood (Monsterverse)
Crossed 3-D (Avatar)
Black Fire (Archaia)
Deadworld: Last Siesta (IDW Publishing)
Dear Creature (Tor)

Best Archival Collection:
Awakening Omnibus (Archaia)

Bob Powell’s Terror (IDW Publishing)
Creepy Archives Vol. 10 (Dark Horse)
Deadworld Classics Vol. 2 (IDW Publishing)
Creepy Presents: Bernie Wrightson (Dark Horse)

Best Writer:
Cullen Bunn – The Sixth Gun
Joe Hill – Locke & Key

Robert Tinnell – Flesh & Blood
Steve Niles – Doc Macbre, Criminal Macabre
Robert Kirkman – Walking Dead

Best Artist:
Gabriel Rodriguez – Locke & Key
Riley Rossmo – Green Wake

Neil Vokes – Flesh and Blood
Garrie Gastonny – The Vault
Jacen Burrows – Neonomicon

Best Inker:
Mark Bloodworth – Deadworld Last Siesta
Riley Rossmo – Green Wake
Jonathan Case – Dear Creature
Charlie Adlard – The Walking Dead

Terry Moore – Rachel Rising

Best Letterer:
Thomas Mauer – Awakening Omnibus
Kelly Tindall – Green Wake
Menton Matthews III – Monocyte
Marshal Dillion – Skullkickers
Terry Moore – Rachel Rising

Best Colorist:
Dave Stewart – BPRD
Matt Webb – Flesh and Blood
Jay Fotos – Locke & Key, ’68
Misty Coats – Skullkickers
Atilla Futaki – Severed

Best Web Comic:

Disappointing Monsters
Tales of Mr. Rhee
Romantically Apocalyptic
Sex and Monsters
Frankenstein Superstar

Hall of Fame Inductee:
Graham Ingels

The 2011 judging panel consists of Decapitated Dan (, Lonnie Nadler (, Steve Banes (, Mike Howlet ( and Mykal Banta (

Winners will be announced March 31, 2011.

by Ghastly McNasty

Theatre of Terror

Get a Trackback link


Leave a comment

Crossed: Wish You Were Here & ‘C-Day’ D.O.G.S. of Mars Trailer

Now Showing Hallowscream Horror Comic Anthology
Horror Comic Covers
Horror Art

  • Recent Comments

  • Your Horrible Hosts on The Theatre of Terror
    Ghastly McNasty

    Do you want to join the Scream team? We're looking for enthusiastic people to contribute articles on horror or comics here on The Theatre of Terror. Contact me for more info.

    Horror News Network

    Courtesy of the
    Horror News Network

    The Horrors Of It All

    The Horrors Of It All is an award winning website which has been delivering top class pre-code horror comic scans for over 10 years.

    Courtesy of the The Horrors Of It All

  • Backstage